How to read the label?

Shridrea

I'm fairly new to crocheting, and I just went to my first yarn store the other day. I admit it, I went nuts in the clearance bin and brought home way too much yarn. And now I'm looking at my patterns and trying to decide what to do with all this lovely yarn. :jumpyay

I've run into a snag though. The patterns give yarn sizes in single digit numbers, but the tag on the yarn has a box with 10x10 on the top, 23R on the side, and 16 S on the bottom. It also shows a pair of knitting needles with 6mm underneath it.

How do I translate this?

Your example box with 10x10 on the top, 23R on the side, and 16 S on the bottom. It also shows a pair of knitting needles with 6mm underneath it. This means 6mm needles 23rows 16 stitches should measure 10"x10"

What kind of yarn is it? Different brands of yarn that state they are the same size, don't always work up the same. Sometimes when I'm trying to figure out weights, I will check the companies web site to see what it says about it. You can work up the gauge swatch listed in the pattern and see how yours compares, or, pick a pattern in which gauge doesn't matter - just be sure to you the same type yarn throughout. Good luck with whatever you pick! Right now I have a pattern I want to make, but the suggested yarn is $15/skein - way too much for me. It uses 2 baby weight yarns, but states that because they are slighty different weights it helps to keep the pattern flat. So, I am just going to have to experiement with different yarns and see what works. The nice thing about crochet is that it frogs easily (ususally!)

The box you described shows you the gauge of the pattern when knitting. There should be more information in the information panel.

You could also google the yarn and manufacturer. I know Caron has all of their yarn info on their website.