help with pattern (Lapel Jacket - Bernat Softee Baby)

Saraloub

Question

I am using a Bernat Softee Baby pattern called Lapel Jacket that is driving me crazy. I am a beginner/intermediate crocheter, but this just doesn't make sense to me. Some of their patterns have diagrams, but of course the one that is most confusing doesn't. Has anyone ever used this? It is supposed to be one piece, but for the life of me, I can't "see" the pattern in my head and have tried drawing it out with their instructions. Thanks if you can help:help

15 answers to this question

Hi and welcome to the Ville:hook

you are starting at one sleeve cuff and crocheting across the sleeve and body to the other sleeve, ending at the second cuff. i found a knitting pattern that has a schematic that basically shows the shape you are making http://www.thinkingknitter.com/BabyPatt.htm

Hi and welcome to the Ville:hook

you are starting at one sleeve cuff and crocheting across the sleeve and body to the other sleeve, ending at the second cuff. i found a knitting pattern that has a schematic that basically shows the shape you are making http://www.thinkingknitter.com/BabyPatt.htm

Thank you so much. I have to have something to look at. Left brain, right brain thing I guess. I don't know which side needs help, but thank you so much for your quick reply.:cheerSara

It is that one. I thought Kathy's helpful diagram would help, but it is a different format.

I started right, I think with cuff, then it spreads out to a T after 5 inches, but I am really confused about shape back and shape left front. I know if I could see a pattern it would make sense to me. Thank you for your reply. Sara