One of THOSE questions

Ambersafghans

Question

17 answers to this question

Guest SamplerLady
it's supposed to be
No "supposed to be", Amber. :D There is the way it's "generally done", but there is always the "way I've done it" that works, too.

One of the interesting things about many crocheters being self taught, is there is no right or wrong way to do things. Some of these techniques seem to be the way everyone else does it, but many are unique to individual crafts people as well as unique to families or locales in the world. How one holds the hook, winds the yarn around fingers.... Crocheters in the UK have different, very confusing if one is not aware of it, names for the common stitches. They are not right, nor are we. When strangers walk up and tell me I'm "doing it all wrong," I just smile and say, "Not wrong. Different than you do it, but not wrong." Most walk away immediately, but many sit down and start comparing notes.

So continue to crochet between the posts if you like. :D It's perfectly find, creates a bit tighter fabric and allows you to crochet faster! :cheer2 mmouseplus.gif

Another Libra heard from!! I too am not one for black & white. I think as long as you are happy w/the end results and are comfy crocheting a certian way, then its ok. And as long as the piece comes out the way its supposed to then it works. In any art there is ones own interpetation. I for one just do what I feel suits the piece I am working on best. After all that's what makes us unique!!

Kelly V

Guest SamplerLady
STANDARD is a good word to use here.. that doesnt denote rightness or wrongness..
I agree. A standard or commonly used is a great way of describing it. mmouseplus.gif

To me, correct and wrong indicated a black and white perspective, being a Libra, I'm just not comfortable with.