How do you hold your hook and work?

I was on a thread at Crochetme where people were discussing how they hold their hooks. As I'm self taught and just held the hook how it felt natural, I don't really fall into the pencil or the knife category. I hold my hook almost as if I were holding a chopstick. I hold it just behind the grip spot and it rests on the first joint of my middle finger and the space between my thumb and forefinger. I control the hook by rolling my thumb back and forth over it to yarn over and pull the loops through. I hold my work with my thumb and forefinger of the opposite hand and control yarn tension with a loop around my pinkie and draped over my middle finger instead of index.

I was just wondering if anyone else had developed their own weird way of holding their hook or work and if anyone was familiar with my strange method! My aunt can't even watch me crochet, she says it hurts her eyes to look at it, but my tension is good and I can crochet fairly quickly too.

Interesting question! I hold my hook almost like you describe, it rests on my middle finger at the joint closest to the fingertip, then on my index finger at the base of the finger, and I use my thumb to roll it. This is exactly the way i hold a pencil. I don't think I ever use the knife grip. The rolling motion seems really important for me, and I can't do that with a knife grip which just feels really awkward to me. I wind the yarn around my left hand differently than you most of the time, but sometimes i don't need much tension so just loosely hold it without really winding.

The way you describe your grip doesn't sound odd at all to me...:Djust a little difference in the angle from how I do it. What grip does your aunt use?

She uses the knife grip but she holds her hand very crabbed up. I told her that she is bound to get arthritis with the way her hand looks all cramped up!