Star/Round Baby Afghan Question

This is my first post and not too sure if I'm in the right area......but here goes. I need to pick/choose a pattern pretty quick and get started for a new little family member.

This is my first time seeing the shaped afghans. I have always crocheted the traditional square or oblong afghans but to me they are darling and seems like they would be a unique, conversational afghan!!

I also do not know of any MOM's to ask if there is a difference in using these shaped afghans. There has got to be a "reason" and I haven't figured it out (since I'm not a mom) but do new MOM's like these shaped blankets???? Not sure if less "points" are better, easier or just what gives?

I'm willing to try one but after searching for patterns I haven't been able to find one that is tried and true. Can anyone that has crocheted one guide me to a pattern???

I am hoping someone can help me as I need to get started very soon....like today!!!

Thanks for your help.

Peggy Pennie

:cheerI had a round shawl which my mother knitted for my first daughter and 46 years later, it is back at my house.

I loved my round shawl and so did my sister (twice) and my daughter (twice) when they borrowed it.

My daughter now lives in France so she gave it back to me when she was packing up.

It will be a long time before she needs it for her grandies because her daughter is only just 13 so she thought it best to leave it at my house.

Now, I make Round Ripples for all the babies I know and so far the mums love them.

Maybe a rectangle or square is a little more practical but a RR looks great when on the bed or on the floor for the baby to lay on.

If you would like my Simple Round Ripple, please do not hesitate to ask.

:yayThe RR gives you more bang for your buck, well I think it does.:yay

I always make them in lots of bright solid colours so they can still use their RR when they are grown.

Hope this helps a little in your quest.

Have fun.

Colleen:hug