the happy hooker??

i'm a newbie and i've noticed that lots of you refer to this book....i checked it out on amazon.com and there's 2 of them....which one and is it a great book for beginners? also, are there actually patterns in there?

I would say that it definitely is a good book for beginners. I retaught myself how to crochet using this book. I had learned as a preteen, and then hadn't crocheted for about 15 or more years. Around Christmas 2006, I decided I wanted to learn again. I really didn't remember anything. So I picked up the book, and taught myself how to do all of the basic stitches, and some basic shaping. Now, I am hooked :hook

The other thing that's nice about the book is that it has a lot of cool patterns so you can find easy, neat things to make with your new skills.

One thing you can do, if you're not sure if it's the right book for you, is see if your local library has a copy. I took it out from the library, and liked it so much that before it was even due, I had ordered my own copy from Amazon.

Hope this helps!

Yes, the book is a good one. Lots of facts and easy to read through and follow.

I have to say that I don't like the patterns in the book (which make up the bulk of the pages). But that's a personal preference as I don't like her designs very much. I also had a horrible time with the bunny slippers pattern. There were sooooo many mistakes that I ended up remaking the same pair 3 or 4 times before I got it right. I'm hoping to post my now new (because I had to make so many adjustments) pattern on my blog.

Yes, the book is a good one. Lots of facts and easy to read through and follow.