Gearing up for 1st project - Questions!!

dreemrytr

Hi all,

I'm new to fulling/felting and can't wait to begin (I'm ALREADY addicted to crochet, so I'm just adding heat to the fire!). I've purchased several skeins of Patons merino wool, and today have finally decided on a pattern. Yesterday I made a test swatch using a G hook, and it came out so well, you can't see any definition of the stitches. The fabric is very dense and sturdy. I am a little confused, though, as my pattern calls for a K hook, which would seem to make the stitches so much larger and show much more. I've read that the smaller and denser the stitch, the better the results with fulling (which seemed to be the case with my test swatch. But it seems that the comments on this board favor larger stitches for fulling. So what is the best method, using a larger hook or smaller hook for less stitch definition? I don't dare change the pattern. Who knows what the results would be (especially shrinkage) using a smaller hook. Although I really want to use a smaller hook!

Thanks, and I look forward to hearing your comments!

oooh, you're gonna have so much fun!

Myself, I alternate between lager and smaller hooks when fulling (I especially like to use a smaller needle when knitting as the fabric is floppy to begin with).

Personally, I don't see much difference between techniques, the only thing you would want to watch for is that you don't make the stitches too tight.

A large hook is often called for because the fibres need to be able to move to rub against each other to felt.

But if you have results you like with a hook you want to use, I say go for it!

Thanks for the reply. Adjusting the pattern may be the difficulty, but I think I could wing it if I gave it some thought (and practice!).