When designing patterns for different sizes . ..

mwedzi

Question

Do you design for how it will fit before or after it's been washed and/or blocked? I'm new to crocheting wearables but am having fun doing so and may want to share my patterns some day. I was reading on another forum reviews of yarn, and the author would always talk about the gauge before and after washing, since yarn usually relaxes after washing. Soooo, if I wanted to make something to fit, for example, a woman with 36" bust, should I design it to fit a 36" bust before or after it's been washed?

Thanks.

6 answers to this question

Yes, it is called swatching. You will want to plan your patterns according to the type of yarn you use. I have heard that certain wool yarns "bloom" when washed and may stretch quite a bit. The only design changes I have made from washing was that after I washed a garment and saw it pill I decided I wanted to switch to a different yarn and decided not to use that yarn in my final pattern.

Make yourself a swatch and do everything you think you will do to your garment, stretch it, wash it, step on it, throw it in the dryer, washer etc. etc. Then get a notebook, write down the COMPLETE content of the yarn (10% rayon, 90% acrylic etc.) and write what happened when you stretched it , washed it etc. I always forget what yarn acted like what so I keep my info in notebooks.

Make yourself a swatch and do everything you think you will do to your garment, stretch it, wash it, step on it, throw it in the dryer, washer etc. etc. Then get a notebook, write down the COMPLETE content of the yarn (10% rayon, 90% acrylic etc.) and write what happened when you stretched it , washed it etc. I always forget what yarn acted like what so I keep my info in notebooks.

What a great idea!