"Rounded" edges ?

jstne

Question

Hello everyone, 

I've been struggling with this for 2 days now and I still can't get there (I'm a newbie)! 

I would like to make rounded corners as shown in the photo. I started with ch. 50, then row 2 - single crochet, then tried to increase it by adding a single crochet in the last stitch. I don't know if I'm clear! 

Anyway, any help is good to take because I am desperate! Thanks a lot !

pull 1.png

5 answers to this question

So from your question it sounds like you are not using a pattern but trying to recreate something similar to this photo?  I dont think it was constructed the way you are attempting.  I cant tell from photo if bag is made using a gusset or if it was made in the round starting with an oval.

http://www.handmadiya.com/2019/07/crochet-belt-pouch-bag-tutorial-and.html?m=1

https://www.craftpassion.com/crochet-tote-bag/#mv-creation-387-jtr

Bgs, I'm thinking it doesn't have a flat oval bottom if that's what you meant, look at the right side bottom, looks like a single rectangular piece flipping up.

Jstne - a recommendation from someone who has been crocheting a long time.  I have learned a lot of tricks, and know how to tweak designs (that usually work) because I have followed  a LOT of different patterns, and learned a lot of things from them, and know the cause and effect of doing certain things.

As a newbie, you don't have that experience YET, but you will.  The process of making stabs at this to get the effect you want will teach you what (probably) won't work.

I think you may on the right track by increasing at the ends.  My suggestion - try just working back and forth across just a few stitches at 1 corner to see what increase scheme is going to work, rather than working ALL the way to the other end and ALL the way back - in other words, make a 'swatch' over just the corner to see what works, and what doesn't.  The trick is going to be determining the right ratio of increasing.