Chevron

Brandys

Question

I have never done a Chevron pattern before. I have to watch videos to learn since I cannot read a pattern. So I have noticed that my ends of my rows are getting longer and I don't know how to fix it

16501461072282451235446186254666.jpg

Edited by Brandys

10 answers to this question

You will need to pull it out and start over.  You are increasing stitches on each row. You have to count, count, count those stitches always counting the number of stitches down to the valleys and counting number of stitches back up to the ridges.  I dont do well with video patterns of any length.  Much prefer a written pattern

I have bad news, but I think you are probably expecting this - you're going to have to start over.

Chevrons cause a LOT of people trouble, so don't feel bad.  They are NOT difficult, but they ARE easy to mess up if you let your mind wander.  

All chevrons have 2 hillsides, / \ where each hillside is the same # of stitches (if / this is 8 stitches, \ that is also 8 stitches).  COUNT THEM.  Every one.  Seriously.

All chevrons have a valley and a hilltop, and the hilltop adds the same # of stitches that the valley removes (because you want the sides to be even, the total stitch ** of every row needs to be the same).  Every valley is made into the center of the valley below it, and likewise every hilltop is made in the center of the hilltop below it.  Example: if the hilltop puts 3 stitches into 1, that is an increase of 2; therefore it's valley should be 3 stitches together to make 1 (a decrease of 2).

Because your pattern is a 'granny clusters', groups of 3 DCs, it should be easier to count, versus counting single stitches.