V stitch increase

Natalie2

Question

Hi. I have been asked to crochet a you dog. While I am not a total beginner, the "nose" has me stumped. Any help will be appreciated 

We start with 18 stitches (at the point I lose the author) 

Then the pattern reads

1sc, 1inc,(3v), 3sc, 1sc,1inc,(3v), 3sc. (24)

2sc, 1inc, (3v), 3sc, 2sc, 1inc, (3v), 3sc (30)

No matter how I look, count and Google, it's simply not making sense to me

Anybody that can explain what and how I do this? 

20 answers to this question

Hi again- not sure what happened to your response (I see it on e-mail but not here)

just to answer the question - the original designed seems to have closed all comments.  The pattern seems quite old, but no dates available

there is no legend, or any guidance - just the actual pattern

comments on the pattern, such as they are, are not of any help (nobody seems to have experienced the same issues?)

So even what yarn to use is not provided, and parts of the pattern do not "acknowledge" colour changes, for example - but that I can figure out from pictures etc.  

There are just 2 parts of the pattern that contains the "3v" - the nose and the cap

Nose as per original question.

the cap states : (note I only quote the section where I find this particular issue)

Start with 60 stitches, 

32hdc, 7sc 1dec (3v), 1sc (57 sc) 

I haven't even started to try to figure out the cap with the decrease yet = any help on this will also be appreciated

Sorry, I realized my first guess didn't 'work' so I deleted it.  I'm still trying to figure out what it is trying to say.  It is not YOU, it's the pattern.  I'm wondering if "v" meant "times", so 3v = 'do the preceding instruction 3 times' but I don't think that is it; I was suspecting the pattern was not written by a native English speaker.