Crochet Moses Basket

Rikki13

Question

Hello,

I’m new to this forum and need some help. I’m self taught and have been crocheting about a year. I have a pattern for a crochet Moses basket using a wooden base. The wooden base is sized 40X75cm (18”X30”), Holes are 9mm diameter and are less then 5mm apart, for a total of 182 holes. The recommended hook size using, double medium (size 7-9mm),T-Shirt yarn to the wooden base is 6mm, using single stitch (sc). Working the sides, the recommended hook size is a 9mm. Stitch used for the basket is the waistcoat single crochet stitch (Vsc). My problem, as seen in the pictures, is the wavy look at the sizes. It seems to be getting worse with each row! I don’t know if I have too many stitches, or are my stitches too tight! I’m will to pull it all out and start again. I just don’t know what I’m doing to cause the wavy! If it’s too many stitches how do I calculate the correct amount?  Can someone help me, please. I would appreciate all thoughts.

Warm regards,

F230DB59-34E2-44C8-A52A-A51E45CDAC15.jpeg

AEEC572F-3AFA-4BC2-80E4-DBF84EDE4304.jpeg

13 answers to this question

So many bits to your question.  First, the wavy part - is not necessarily 'you doing something wrong', but your slight difference in the way you form stitches versus the designers'.  I make flat doilies and get this (ruffling to some extent) all the time, and have to adjust on the fly, or negate by blocking, but you can't really block a basket.

Is the basket supposed to have straight sides (perpendicular to the bottom), or get wider as it goes up?  I'm assuming perpendicular.  What I would do is try to pinch the ruffle in 4 spots - 1 on each side - so each side is perpendicular and you've 'pinched away' the extra stitches, and give your best guess at how many stitches you pinched. Rip back to round 2 (round 1 is too 'fussy', working into the holes in the wooden base) and evenly space the decreases ('wainscoat' 2 together).