All the gear no idea!

Yellow

Question

I’ve never done crotchet before and I am trying to do a dream catcher as someone got it for me for my birthday ! The instructions begin by saying “Ch 3 (in place of tr)”.. what does this mean ?!? I’ve googled everything I can and have no idea !! 

3 answers to this question

Welcome to the 'ville!  And Happy Belated Birthday!  

I am going to guess you are in the UK or where UK crochet terms are used.  I'm in the US.  Here is a conversion chart.  In a nutshell, most of the standard, building-block stitches are 'promoted' in UK terms, in other words a US Single crochet is a UK Double crochet stitch, and so on.  Chain, slip stitch terms mean the same thing in both lingos.

Here is a site that is in US terms,  (sorry, I'm not aware of a UK site that's similar) .  There are lot of good things in here about reading crochet patterns which apply, just the basic stitch names are different.  See the menu on the right side of the page for different subjects. 

In that menu, look at the section the section 'how to read a crochet pattern' it explains what a turning chain is--this pertains to your question--what does "chain 3 in place of a UK triple" mean?  (but it will be talking about DC not trebles...)

Basic crochet stitches (basic stitch meaning 1 stitch not an 'assembly' of stitches) have different heights.  

A slip stitch is the shortest stitch; A UK DC (US SC) is the next taller stitch - it uses a turning chain (1 chain) to get your yarn up to the height of the next row.  For UK DC, the turning chain does not count as a stitch.  When you are starting from a foundation chain, you chain x, turn, and make the first UK DC into the second chain (the skipped one is the 'turning' chain)