Securing crochet knots

Crochetjacket

Question

Hi all! I am very new to crochet (started 3 days ago). I have started crocheting bits of yarn into an old cardigan to make a shaggy jacket. Tieing knots worked for the first types of yarn I had, but I bought 2 more rolls (I think that's what they're called) from spotlight and I I've had to tie them with an extra 2 or so knots, but they fray and it's loosens the knot and I fear that they will fall out and ruin the jacket. Anything I Google comes up with "how to tie two yarn strings together" and unrelated topics. Apparently glue doesnt work either because of the material being so much more separated in comparison to string.  I think the materials are synthetic if that helps?

Thanks in advance. 

20191112_004921.jpg

20191112_004947.jpg

4 answers to this question

Welcome to the 'ville!

Since you have only been crocheting a couple of days, I totally understand that you don't have the experience to appreciate that this wasn't going to be practical, unless you were making a wall decoration maybe that would never be washed or worn. 

1)  Yes, some yarn is 'slicker' than others, and yours looks shiny from the photo and looks slippery.

2)  Never tie knots in crochet.  Really.  No, I'm serious.  They WILL come undone.  The way to secure the ends in crocheted fabric is to leave at least 6" to weave in the end invisibly with a needle, you don't even want to crochet over ends as that isn't very secure.

3)  Glue?  No.  

4)  If you are going to make fringe, you want to cut the yarn no less than 10" long, so your fringe ends up about 5" long.  This is really on the short side, the longer the better for staying put and not coming undone and falling off.  Normally you'd only put fringe on the very edge of something, not overall.  There are 'eyelash' (hairy looking) yarns for a shaggy look to make something from scratch, or to add to an existing item for an edging.