Newbie confusion over treble crochet pattern

Kiwigirl

Question

Hi, I am quite new to crochet. I should probably only be picking crochet projects that have a full video on YouTube as I can really struggle figuring out instructions. However I found a pattern the other day that has no video, but I think it is beautiful and I would love to make it. Unfortunately I am stuck on round 2. The pattern is below ... I'm not sure what it means to do 1 treble crochet "into the base of 3ch". If I can do that then the rest makes sense ... at least until I have to change to colour B 😰 But I figure I need to focus on solving one problem at a time 😌 

Can anyone please help me? 

http://www.sharalambethdesigns.com/2012/06/voyages-beanie.html?m=1

10 answers to this question

hi, welcome to the ville!  ok, you made the 3 chains, and they are based in the last stitch in the previous round.  make your treble into that stitch, the one the chain arises out of.

(and don't be like me, and switch from UK to US terms in the middle of the pattern! )   

I have another question already 😰 Why does my hat look so "holey" when the one in the picture looks very tightknit! Even at the top where on dark blue is used. Picture hopefully attached.

Think I'm still managing to keep the TCs and DCs straight! 😀 

IMG_1024.JPG

Those stitches look awfully long to me. Are you yarning over once or twice at the beginning of the stitches? It should be once. You're doing a UK pattern. A UK tr is the same stitch as a US dc stitch. How I can tell is that your chain up to get the stitch height is a ch 3.

Here's more information on the difference between UK crochet terms and US crochet terms...

https://www.craftsy.com/blog/2014/10/british-vs-american-crochet-terms/

I can't quite tell if you are making a too-tall stitch as Redrosesdz was wondering, or if you make relatively tallish stitches.  Everybody has a different stitch tension, in width AND height.  Your tension might be different than the designers'.