Granny Square Stripe Afghan

Michellaneous

Question

Ok crochet friends, I am a relatively beginner crochet, but I have done a large granny square blanket.

Why is this happening!! It almost looks like I have too many stitches on the rows after the chain and row 1. It's granny stripes. So I chained 200, then went back and single crocheted into the chain skipping the first two chains. Then chained three and then started to do the double crochet clusters in every third chain; picking up both the front and back of the chain. ???? I'm even using a bigger gage hook then what the yarn calls for. Will it lay flat as I keep going and this is happening just because it's long? Or do I need to start over because I was too tight?

Thanks so much for the help and advice!post-79836-0-05209400-1494287664_thumb.jpgpost-79836-0-16514100-1494287674_thumb.jpg

6 answers to this question

Welcome to Crochetville!

Rippling occurs when you have too many stitches.  The ONLY way to fix it is to rip it out.

Crocheting in rows is different than crocheting in the round (round, square, rectangle, etc.)  When you crochet in rounds, you start with a small diameter (square, rectangle) and then you make it bigger as it grows.  In order to cover the circumference, you have to increase the number of stitches in each round.  For example, with the granny stitch, you increase the number of 3 dc clusters on each side.

When you crochet in rows, each row must have the same number of stitches.  Both dc and chains count as stitches.  So, 3 dc, ch 1 is 4 stitches.  That means that you have to skip 4 stitches.  If you do 3 dc and no chain, then you skip 3 stitches.  If you start with 200 stitches, then EVERY row must be 200 stitches.

Here's a tutorial ...

So on the circle, the chain edge is on the inside?  And on the straightened version, the chain is on the right?