FPTr2tog 2nd leg

hakandragon

Question

Hey all! 

I'm working on a crochet pattern, and it was going (mostly) fine until I got to this part in the pattern:

[FPTr2tog around post of 1st dc 2 rows below and following 4th

dc for 2nd leg (skipping 3 sts 2 rows below and 1 st on working

row), dc in next 3 dc] twice, working first leg of FPTr2tog over

same st as 2nd leg of previous FPTr2tog, FPTr2tog working first

leg of FPTr2tog over same st as 2nd leg of previous FPTr2tog

and following 4th dc for 2nd leg (skipping 3 sts 2 rows below and

1 st on working row)

I understand the FPTr2tog thing to start with, and I can even wrap my head around the 2 rows below thing, but I don't understand the 2nd leg part, and then "working first leg of FPTr2tog over same st as 2nd leg..."

Could someone help me pull this apart a little clearer? I've never done this stitch before so I'm not sure what I'm supposed to be looking at/for.

Here is the link to the pattern, and I'm working on Row 8 (Lattice Foundation Row): https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/1190/0400/files/Mrs._Hughes_Afghan_2.pdf?9265798080935812423

Thanks so much!

6 answers to this question

Welcome to Crochetville!

The stitch is called "lattice", "trellis", "honeycomb", "diamond weave" or a combination of these words.  I found some youtube videos for it with sc rows in the background.  They may help, even though the stitches behind your pattern's tr cables are dc rows.  I'd link in one of the videos, but I'm not sure which one would be most helpful.  Google "diamond weave crochet tutorial" and click on the first one.  There will be more on the right.  Keep watching them until you get to one that makes sense for you.

When you're doing the tr cables (FPtr2tog) there are 2 legs going down to the 2 rows below.  Each half of the FPtr2tog is a leg.  These are the legs that the pattern is referring to.

I hope this helps!