Curling? Tension?

mrsnjonesjr

Question

Okay ladies I need your help. My jumbo granny square is curling. Is this a tension issue or did I mess up badly? I know you can't exactly tell what I'm doing wrong but is the general rule a tension issue???? Boo! :( I'm still learning.

***EDITED to add photo****

EEK!

post-77137-0-94693300-1456760943_thumb.jpg

12 answers to this question

Curling could be tension, wrong hook size for your yarn or not enough stitches (or something I didn't think of.)

Since you're doing a giant granny square, here are some question for you...

1. What round did it start curling?

2.  Is it curling at the corners or elsewhere?

3. If it's the corners, how many chains are you doing between the 6 dc?  You may need to add a couple of chains.  If it's elsewhere, how many chains are you doing between each 3dc?  You may need to add a chain.

4. How often are you turning?  The bias might have something to do with the curling, too.  Turning cancels out the stitch bias.

Without turning, the stitches look like this...

////////

////////

////////

With turning, the stitches look like this ...

////////

\\\\\\\\
////////

5. What weight yarn are you using and what size hook?

A picture would really help answer your problem.

Curling could be tension, wrong hook size for your yarn or not enough stitches (or something I didn't think of.)

Since you're doing a giant granny square, here are some question for you...

1. What round did it start curling?

2.  Is it curling at the corners or elsewhere?

3. If it's the corners, how many chains are you doing between the 6 dc?  You may need to add a couple of chains.  If it's elsewhere, how many chains are you doing between each 3dc?  You may need to add a chain.

4. How often are you turning?  The bias might have something to do with the curling, too.  Turning cancels out the stitch bias.

Without turning, the stitches look like this...

////////

////////

////////