DL stich help

Beanie80

Question

Hello, I'm still fairly new to crochet but loving it! I've come across an instruction I'm not sure about. The abbreviation is DL= double dc.

I have row 6 that has some fpdc's in it, then row 7 of dc's. The current row I'm on is saying: ch1, sc in next dc, 1 DL hooked into the last fpdc of row 7 and 1DL hooked into the next fpdc of row 7 not closed and closed together??

Any help on what the DL section of this means, I can't seem to find any tutorials

Thanks

11 answers to this question

welcome to the ville !

what is the name and location of the pattern?  

the pattern should define DL by saying more than just double dc, because double dc doesnt really tell you anything....or at least it doesn't tell me anyhting!  I'm sure you can't find any tutorials, because it is not a common/standard stitch name.  So be sure you have readd all the notes before and after the pattern itself, hopefully the terms are explained there.  

Welcome to the 'ville!  

Usually a conventionally written pattern using a non-standard stitch with have a listing of them, and how they are made, either at the beginning or end of the pattern.  I have to say the language of the pattern sounds like it is not clearly/conventionally written, 'hooked into' and 'closed/not closed' ... ??

Is this a pattern on the net for which you can provide a link?  This might help us decipher it, or suggest a similar pattern that is more clearly written.

Jinx, Magic!

Granny,  I think that Kathy is winning the "post the same advice at the exact same time" tennis match you two have going!  It's so funny to see both of you type almost the exact same thing, look at the time and know that you're both posting at the same time.  I haven't counted, but it seems like Kathy's post shows up first more often!  hehehehehe

Hi everyone thanks for your response, sorry it's taken me so long to get back, I haven't been able to get on the web site!