decreasing

denver11

Question

I'm fairly new to the world of crochet but have made a few blankets now. But my new project is a stuffed horse. Up until now I have managed to read pattern for myself but now I have hit a stubbing block and need help. I know how to decrease using sc2tog so for example I know that (sc2tog,5sc) 6 times; means 1sc in the next 5 stitches then sc2tog ....

But the I'm stuck on what 12sc, sc2tog 6 times, 12sc means? I'm decreasing from 36 stiches in my round to 30. Please advise

20 answers to this question

I'm big on rewriting patterns when they don't make sense to me.  I have a tendency to use the same short-hand, but write out the repeats.  Hopefully it makes sense to you, too.

Round 21:sc2tog 2 times, 6sc, Inc 3 times, 5sc, sc2tog 20 stitches.

sc2tog, sc2tog, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, 2sc, 2sc, 2sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc2tog = 20 stitches
Round 22: same as above

sc2tog, sc2tog, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, 2sc, 2sc, 2sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc2tog = 20 stitches
Round 23: 10sc, Inc 2 times, 8sc; 22 stitches

sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, 2sc, 2sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc = 22 stitches
Round 24: Inc 2 times, 20sc; 24 stitches

2sc, 2sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, = 24 stitches
Round 25: 1sc, Inc 2 times, 5sc, sc2tog 6 times, 4sc; 20 stitches

sc, 2sc, 2sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc2tog, sc2tog, sc2tog, sc2tog, sc2tog, sc2tog, sc, sc, sc, sc = 20 stitches

(sc2tog,6sc) 3 times, sc2tog, 28sc

sc2tog, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc2tog, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc2tog, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc2tog, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc, sc = 56 stitches