Newbie yarn help please

DanielleM84

Question

Hi, I'm new to crochet-in fact I only just received the wool so Ive literally finished work, and seen as I have a fractured foot, thought it was a good time to sit and have a go ???? I bought double knit wool, and I've mastered the single stitch, but I'm finding the wool hard to work with- I can't see the loops very well to try and make a second row, and sometimes a strand is getting pulled through wrong as the wool is fluffy...is there a type of yarn I should start with as opposed to the double knit wool??

Thanks in advance Danielle

8 answers to this question

You are calling your yarn "wool".  Not being sure where you are, (it's not in your profile) I'm not sure if you are referring to actual wool or acrylic yarn.  I would recommend acrylic yarn, in gauge 4 (usually on the label).  That stands for 4-ply, and is a rather standard weight.  You can also use baby yarn, but for a beginner, it might be a challenge.  Look for yarn that is rather tightly wound (not fluffy or loosely twisted).  You could also go with cotton, but I find that some cotton yarns have a tendency to separate easily while you work with them.

You've come to a great place for help!  There will be several others on here--coming to your aid.

Welcome to the ville!

Double knit is a size, or weight, of yarn. It sounds like the problem is the fuzzy texture of it, not the size. A smooth yarn would be easier to work with.

But you do need to use a hook that is the right size for the yarn. If the hook is too small the stitches will be tight and hard to work into. What size hook did you use?

Thanks for the replies, when I searched for crochet yarn, I got a lot of items that said crochet/knitting wool, so I assumed it was the same thing I am using a 4 hook, the only one I have until my set arrives, should I wait and try a different one? I shall try and get some acrylic yarn, thanks for the help x