Hooks from goodwill?

Tallywa18

Question

I recently bought a few old hooks from goodwill but I have no clue what mm size they are. I have 4 Susan bates that have numbers not letters also 2 Boye with the same problem. I generally use hooks by mm size and ignore the letter. They are all very tiny hooks (which is what I need for my next project) but I'm very new to crochet and am afraid to start a project not knowing what sized hooks I'm using. I tried looking up the sizes online but I can't find anything!

18 answers to this question

:P huh!  I think when i put it in my cart it was from Amazon or there are different vendors and i saved the wrong one or something!  Oh well it will probably change again before i order it lol.  And i do keep thinking about jewelry calipers too.......then again i don't really need any of this stuff, the hooks i actually use are clearly marked....it'd just be fun to have....but am trying to cut down on "stuff", which sometimes seems like a lost cause in my craft/storage room :lol   

here is a chart for steel hook sizes http://www.purplekittyyarns.com/info/steel-crochet-hook-conversion.html  it gives the mm , US and UK numbering systems.  

However older hooks may not follow this current system exactly.  

I found the Lacis slot sizer on amazon http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00CB37ALG/ref=ox_sc_sfl_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A2FVWI1N0THHUF  and want to get one the next time i place an order.  I think they also sell these on the Annies site.  It will give you the mm of your hooks, but I think the other numbers are a mix of knitting needle  and crochet hook sizes, or maybe it is the UK numbers.  

I've also thought about getting a pair of calipers 

You can estimate the size by laying the hook on a ruler that has mm marked.  that won't be exact and won't help too much for the fractions of mm, but will give you a rough idea.