Spinning Wheels and Drum carders

jacqui

I would be interested to know how many of you Drop spindle or what kind of spinning wheels you use. Do you use Drum carders,hand carders,combs or flick carders? What are your favourite fibres to spin? I have a Marjacraft, Suzie, wheel from New Zealand it has all the different ratios for different fibres. I used a number of different wheels before purchasing this one and i love it. I have used flicker brush to card greasy fleece and drum carder for washed fleece and blending. I've been spinning for five years almost and have spun Alpaca, wool, dog hair, camel,cotton,cat, rabbit, Soy silk, silk,mohair, polyester sparkle and blends. I'm reasonably new to spinning but i'm willing to give any fibre a try if i can get it here. I teach anyone who wants to learn the same with crochet. I will be attending a spinning camp in November and will be meeting the people who made my wheel! I'm really looking forward to it as i can't afford to go to camps further away and this one is here in my town. I taught myself to Drop spindle and find it so portable you can do it any where and i do.:manyheart to spin &:hook:yay

I have an Ashford Traditional and an Ashford Joy. I started with the traditional and now almost use the joy exclusively. I have a Woolie Winder on my Christmas wish list and hubby already told me he would get it for me now if I wanted it. :) I also have a louet drum carder that I love. Due to wrist injuries, I had a really hard time hand carding so I was given the drum carder as a present. I love it. I have really only spun merino, coopworth, cotswold and have lincoln fleece on it's way to me now to try. I have been the lucky recipient of a little angora when I helped a lady in my old spinning group pluck her bunnies. Would definately like more of that and am looking into getting a bunny myself...still unsure about that. I will start alpaca in the spring when my brother shears his two new recent additions to their farm :)