How you hold your hook

MysterySister

Question

I've been crocheting for most of my life so I've been holding my hook the same way for many years and was always very comfortable until recently when I developed neuropathy in my right arm. For a few months, I thought I could never crochet again as it was much too painful but fortunately I've found a slightly different way to hold my hook that is less painful but means that I have to constantly watch what I'm doing and remind myself to do it the 'new' way.

Has anyone else had drastically change the way they crochet and did you manage to get used to it? Also, are those fat handled hooks generally more comfortable to hold or is that a personal thing?

12 answers to this question

I don't know about changing the way you hold a hook.. but the susan bates cushion grips helps me a lot! I crochet right handed but about 6 yrs ago, my right thumb was broke pretty bad. It still gives me fits. I also have neuropathy and the cushion grip helps

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00114QF9Y/ref=asc_df_B00114QF9Y3248109?smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER&tag=pg-304-94-20&linkCode=df0&creative=395097&creativeASIN=B00114QF9Y

I've seriously considered teaching myself to crochet left handed. I was born left handed and forced to switch in kindergarten. Never could write neat and the older I get, my right hand seems to be failing me more and more. Writing is a real chore so for the past few months, I've been writing left handed and I must say, it's much more natural and easy to read. lol  

I didn't realise you could get the fat cushiony handles on their own, that's fantastic! Thank you, I'll give it a go.

There are a few day-to-day tasks that I've learned to do left-handed but I really can't manage the fiddly stuff. I tried typing and it was annoyingly slow, and I tried writing and it was complete gibberish, unless I wrote backwards, for some reason :lol I'm definitely a right-hander!