confused by tr2tog

katey101

Question

Hello, Im new to pattern reading and have been confused by the pattern for a boys cardigan i am making. The pattern says-

chain 39

ROW 1-Work tr2tog into 4th ch from hook and each ch to end turn.(37sts)

ROW 2- 3 ch (counts as 1tr), tr2tog between first tr and next st, trtog into sp between next 2sts, rep from * ending 1tr in top of tch, turn.

ROW 2 form patt and is reapted throughout. cont in patt untill back measures 32 cm from beg

I was trying to do this and it curved in to a semi circle and each row was getting shorter and shorter- dont see how it can form the back of my cardigan! what am i doing wrong?

IM SO CONFUSED LOL

Thanks

Katey

10 answers to this question

Katey, when you work 2 trebles (triples) together you are actually increasing.  So you actually make 2 triple crochet stitches in one stitch.  It sounds like you are not actually making two triples in those stitches.  That's why it is curving in!  I hope this makes sense to you!  If not, let us know, and maybe someone else can express it better!

Hi, thanks for replying- it says on the pattern that it decreses it. This is why i am confused because it is getting to small lol

Yeah, the pattern does read kind of funny!  You might see if there has been a correction written somewhere about it.  Did it come from a book, or online?

Its a DMC Hilary mackin- purchased it from a ebay.

H-m-m-m...  something else caught my interest--do you know if the terms are English or American?  There's a difference in their stitch names from ours.  She refers to the measurement as cm, instead of inches.....

She did put inchs as well but i forgot to type them lol it says mafde in england on the back. xxx

Ok, if you live in England, you're ok.  But if you live in the U.S., you need to google American vs. British crochet abbreviations.

Welcome to the ville, Katey :hook