My crochet keeps twisting/curling....

AnnabelleBella

Question

Hi!

I've made collars before, so this time I thought it would be no different. I'm using an 8ply cleckheaton red wool and a 4.25mm hook (it reccommends 4.00mm but I don't have one). I've never used this wool before.

The foundation chain contains 67 stitches, and for some reason every time I try my chain twists/curls/spirals. This has never happened before, and i've experimented with different hooks and tensions and always get the same result - twisted and frustrating.

I've even tried using a bigger hook for the foundation chain and a smaller for the rest, and that didn't work.

Could the wool that I'm using be a problem?? It seems to me like a rather thick 8ply, but I would have thought the thicker hook would solve the problem in that case.

HELP!!

Thanks guys :)

8 answers to this question

It sounds to me like your tension may be too tight, so maybe you need an even bigger hook for the chain. a really springy wool can be hard to crochet with, I find.

Also, does the whole thing curl once you have done a few rows? did you try wet blocking it? it may be fine once blocked.

You might want to investigate the twist of the yarn, there are Z and S twist yarns. Here is a blog entry by designer Doris Chan http://dorischancrochet.com/2011/12/15/the-crochet-twist/

and if you google you can find other articles.

Just throwing that out as a possibility, twist is not something i have ever had an issue with.

@alohadave, no it's not just the foundation chain, the whole thing curls and when I try to lay it flat it ends up with a ruffle. I may just switch wools but it's a shame because I really like the colour!

@magiccrochetfan, I've tried using bigger hooks, but it messes up the gage. I might give it another go!

And ove never heard of wet blocking, so I can't.say I've tried it

:P

Thanks for the link I'll check it out now :)