Pricing Items, sell by order or create an inventory?

Hi All! I've been crocheting for many years, and my husband convinced me to go the route of establishing a business and all the stuff that comes with it. I have sold things here and there since college (which was several years ago), but I'm really determined to increase my general profit. Does anyone have any good ideas for setting prices for items? I have compared my products to those on Etsy and other sites, but there seems to not be a consistent price for items.

Also, what is your opinion on making items by order vs. creating an inventory of items to sell on a site like Etsy, Artfire, or Lily Shop? Currently, I crochet by order since I only finished grad school last year, have a family with a baby on the way and other things going on. I would love any advice/suggestions from those who spend more time crocheting than wokring a day job.:)

It depends what you are making. If you are doing something like hats, It would be a good idea to make one of each kind (depending how many items you want to have available for sale) just so you can show photos of your actual work to the prospective customers, but from my personal experience I don't think it's necessarily worth your while to create a large inventory because chances are you will be needing to create a special order anyway (a special size, customary color preference, etc.) and you may have a pile up of items (like I have in my basement!!)

I used to do craft fairs, and found that a few samples of each kind worked well when done in basic neutral colors. Then orders were taken for more specific items in the customers choice of yarn, color, size. I also would do a board with swatches in different yarns so they could feel and see the various yarns I would use. Depending on the weather, current styles and age of customers, many of the samples sold as well as new orders. Pics are good, but lots of folks want to see and feel what they are buying.