FLEECE FOR KATRINA VICTIMS

Lollie2639

Hi crochet sisters:

As some might remember I am a registered nurse. I live in central (right below Atlanta). I was told when I worked yesterday that we are also going to be taking in patients for medical care. Anyway, there are many signs posted taking in non-perishable food items that will be sent over to the needy in the affected areas.

As far as blankets.......

Since we all LOVE to crochet and I know without a shadow of a doubt that all of you, just like me, have more than one project of crochet going right now, I was thinking of a way go make blankets that will take hardly no time. It takes some time to crochet an afghan. I personally have been working on 2 for months now. :manyheart I am suggesting this.......

Lets all go to Walmart, or you local fabric store, and buy the inexpensive fleece. You can fray the ends or cut 1 x 4" strips around all 4 sides and go back and knot each strip...and voila! I am going to make about 6 today. Four baby ones and 2 adult ones. One yard can make 2 small blankies.

Just a thought......

Let me know what you think!

God Bless everyone:hug

Crochet RN

(Laurie)

I think thats a wonderful quick fix. Do you have a place that they can be sent to.

A live in Rhode Island and a guy that owns a truck company voluntered to drive a truck load of supplies down . He was going to park in a mall parking lot so people could bring stuff down but the red cross told him no. They only want money. no supplies

The polar fleece idea is great as it will also be easy to post.

My sister and I were looking at them in a store yesterday and some had been on Special. Unfortunately they were back to normal price but even at full price, they were only about $9.00nz

I also saw good but very cheap t-shirts which I think would also be acceptable for people who only have what they stand in.