Blocking crocheted garments?

natalie058

Question

I've never done this before!!

I'm almost done with the last piece on this cardigan... And I have to block it before I sew it and add the collar - except I have no clue how to go about doing that!!

The only directions I've seen for blocking clothes involve soaking the items in water, rolling them up in a towel to squeeze the excess, and then stretching it to shape and laying to dry. That was for the Triple Play pattern.

I'm not sure if the same thing will work for this! I used LB Wool-Ease for mine. I've seen tons of stuff on how to block doilies but not clothing...

Help!

6 answers to this question

you go about it just like you said - you may also press the pieces between two towels and use the steam setting on your iron (however) Please check the yarn label to see if you can do this.

I knitted and crocheted for people for more years than I can remember and I never, once, blocked anything.

If it looks OK how it is, why bother.

I sometimes washed things in Woolwash, to make sure any over-dye came out but that was usually when my hands were picking up the colour off the yarn. Black and blue were the worst for that.

Put it together in whatever method you are using and if it looks like the seams need a wee press, lightly steam without any pressure.

So many acrylic yarns melt and flatten with the iron and look used before you start.

This is just my humble opinion and I respect others who think differently.

Have fun.

Colleen.:hug :hug

Nat,

Be careful about using an iron if the yarn is acrylic based. Read the label as suggested. My mom made a beautiful baby sweater for someone and she had the iron too hot and the sweater scorched and burned and was discolored. I think she even was going to be paid for making the sweater!