what is this yarn called??

what is the type of yarn or string called that is used in making doilies, snowflakes, bookmarks or runners? I am a beginner crocheter and am thinking of making some Christmas gifts (doilies and bookmarks) for family but i want make sure i even know what im looking for when i go buy it?

Thanks!!!:)

Usually these items are made with crochet thread, and many of them call for size 10 thread. There are a lot of patterns for beginners, but read them carefully to make sure you can understand them, and be patient.....it will pay off in the end! good luck!

what is the type of yarn or string called that is used in making doilies, snowflakes, bookmarks or runners? I am a beginner crocheter and am thinking of making some Christmas gifts (doilies and bookmarks) for family but i want make sure i even know what im looking for when i go buy it?

Thanks!!!:)