1st time felting question

MarciMarie

So I've always wanted to felt, and I've finally decided to give it a try. Here's want I want to do and, and a few questions. All advice and opinions are greatly appreciated!!

I've never used wool before, and I bought Hobby Lobby's I Love This Wool. Will it be good?

I want to make star shaped ornaments, and after felting, embroider names on them and blanket stitch two together, with a hanging loop.

Because this is my first time and I don't know exactly what to expect with gauge, shrinking, what star pattern to use,and all--can I just sc a big square, felt that, then cut my squares out of it? I've watched on tv about a million times where they felt a wool sweater, then cut it up. I would really like to do it this way, if you all think it works good. Would I use a small hook to get a tight fabric to begin with?

Thank you to all,

MarciMarci

I have never tried the I Love This Wool so I don't know if it's for felting or not. Seems like it would be with a 93% wool content, but then it says in the description over at Crafts Etc. that it can be machine washed and dried. :think You got me. Hopefully someone else has used it.

Yes, you can cut felted wool. I don't know if that's the way I'd go with this though. Seems like you'd have a lot of waste. What I'd do is make one in the shape I wanted, felt it, and then go from there as to whether I need to make it smaller, larger, or whatever. The results you get from felting depends on the yarn you use, your washer, temp of water, ... lots of things. It's really just trial and error. And believe me, I've made lots of errors! :P

You'd use a hook size larger than what is called for on the yarn label. You want a very loose fabric before felting.

Here's an article with a few tips on felting ...

http://cache.lionbrand.com/cgi-bin/faq-search.cgi?store=/stores/eyarn&faqKey=254&language=