Advice needed on structuring a class

Good morning! I'm a 6th grade teacher in a middle school. The staff has been encouraged to sponsor a club this year to improve student involvement, sooo......of course I thought of a Crochet Club! :hook However, I have a few questions. I would like to have a few shorter sessions rather than a year-long commitment. I think this would be better for the students - they sometimes have short attention spans and it will allow me to focus on fewer students.

Here are my questions:

1. How many students max should I accept?

2. Are 6 weekly sessions (30 minutes each) enough for students to get some practice and start a project?

3. Does this structure make sense?

Week 1 - Chain

Week 2 - Single Crochet

Week 3 - Double Crochet

Week 4 - Start project (Choice of dishcloth or scarf)

Week 5 - Work on project

Week 6 - Work on project

Thank you for any feedback!

I would say if they are all in the sixth grade then no more than 10 or find yourself a helper. 30 minutes of chaining might bore them so you might try combining chaining and single crochet in week one. This would give you more time for the project. Make sure to give them homework to practice their stitches. Chain 25 sts and do a row or two of sc. The rest of your schedule with the combined class and increase in project time frame should be good. I hope this might help you.:think

Hi,

Not having children myself but having been involved in groups etc teaching children (horse riding... dog show handling .. crocheting) I would think you may actually be moving a bit slowly.

If it were possible to have the first session be your three basics : ch, SC and DC, so then they can actually have made their first item (ie a scrunchie?) by the first lesson would be a huge boost to their interest rather than just have made chains.

Your next session could be on a more advanced technique - ie a simple motif or granny square?