gauge question

I have been crocheting for more than 25 years. (I'm 39 and my great-grandmother taught me to crochet when I was in junior high.) Only recently, I have discovered that my gauge is waaaay off on nearly everything that I do. I hadn't noticed before because I primarily made afgans, purses, pillows, etc. where the gauge didn't really matter.

I am trying to become more conscious of my gauge and have tried using smaller hooks but still can't seem to get the gauge right-enough to make things like baby sweaters or booties. (The last pair of booties I made would probably fit a 1 yr old as opposed to an infant, and I even went down two hook sizes.)

Please share tips or ideas for how to adjust my gauge so that I can increase the variety of items that I can make. Thanks!

Oh my, we have the same problem. I don't usually have the patience to do a swatch in the pattern stitch to make sure the gauge is right for a project. You might try that for a while. IF you're always off on the large side, you could try using the next smaller hook size.

The other thing I've found is that I've gotten a little better with experience of making wearables. . . but I've still got my share of things I have to send to someone who is a different size! :blush

That's why I prefer making afghans & things that don't have to be an exact size. I'm too impatient to make up a swatch and try to get the gauge exact.

But to answer your question, that's the only thing I can think of, to make a swatch to match the gauge before completing the entire project.