Help again?

suzidemars

I'm so sorry to keep asking so many ?? on the same dumb doily!

I'm getting so frustrated, I'm new to this but I'm thinking this pattern was either not written carefully, or should not be marked for a beginner.

Here's my directions. I'm so close to done....

Edging

Rnd 1: Working up side of first petal, attach maize with a sl st in side of first ch-4 of Row 1, ch 4, dc in same sp, working along side of petal, [ch 4, *dc in next sp, ch 4, dc in same sp] 7 times, working in tip of petal, ch 4, {dc, ch 1} 5 times, dc in same sp, working along other side of first petal, rep bet 7 times, ch 1, rep from * around, join to first sl st of rnd.

Rnd 2: Sl st in first sp, *ch 5, sl st in 3rd ch from hook (picot made), ch 2, sk next sp, sc in next sp, rep from * around, join to 3rd ch of beg ch-5, fasten off.

In the 1st round, on the 1st side of the petal, it lookes like there should be a ch 4 between each and every dc. But when it has you go back down the other side, is "rep bet 7 times" supposed to read rep bet [ ] 7 times? If so, when you move on to the next petal, and repeat from *, you miss the ch 4 between every other dc. When you look at the pic, it looks like there is only a ch 4 between every other dc. I'm not comfortable yet with making the decision that the pattern is wrong.

Here's the link, I really hope someone can help. If you click on the pic it's bigger.

http://promotions.drgnetwork.com/newsletters/talkingcrochet/pages/TCNL1907_patt.html

first of all.. there is no such thing as a dumb doily! they're all crafty lil buggers dontcha know?! :D

i've tried looking at the pic, but i think it hasn't been blocked properly, some petals look like there is a 4ch between each dc, but others look like 4ch between every other dc.

i have a feeling it should be 4ch between every other dc, otherwise the pattern would have read *4ch, 1dc, repeat from* xx times. JMHO