Feeling overwhelmed.......?

Hey everyone! :D Not sure if this applies just to me, but I'm relatively new to crochet. I've made a few afghans, wash cloths, a couple stuffies, and other small things, but believe me I still make plenty of mistakes (btw, I'm self taught) Anyways, now that I am learning to read patterns better, and I suppose becoming more confident in my skills, I DON"T KNOW WHAT TO DO!!! There are so many things I would like to make, so many patterns I'd like to try. I'm feeling quite overwhelmed. Did any of you feel like this? And what direction did you decide to go in (as in amigurumi, or just afghans, or clothing), and why?

Oh and also, I like to make my own things up, I suppose because I feel like if I just do it off the top of my head, I can't make any mistakes! LOL As opposed to working from a pattern. Is that bad? Should I be doing patterns for 'practice'?

I felt that way a couple of times. What I did was just look at what I had on my list and broke it down to thread and yarn. Then just went with what felt right.

We all get over whelmed at one time or another. A good bit of us are self taught, myself included.:hook

I usually make whatever strikes my fancy. I might get on a hat kick, and make a bunch of hats. This summer I've made bags and dishrags, but now I'm back onto scarfs. Browsing in a book might help you focus on one thing. Even tho I've crocheted for over 4 years (learned from a book), I learn new stuff all the time. This week I learned a linked triple treble stitch. It took re-reading the directions about 20 times, and two internet tutorials, but I finally got it. I'm thinking next about trying some thread crochet...but just mulling it over right now.

susan