Pastel Rocks

jaclim

I love making jewelry with a "freeform" look on it. ;) I've already made several using the same technique (Thanks, Fiona for the inspiration!:hug ) but with different mix of beads each time. It's so much fun experimenting! :D I found these beautiful unusually shaped glass rocks when I went bead shopping last week. I knew I had to buy a strand when I saw it. :lol The bracelet is made entirely with sc's. I used a Tulip size 3/0 for this one and of course size 10 cotton thread. ;)

th_pastelrocksbeadcrochetedbracelel.jpg

(clickable)

I can write down the schematics for this if anyone is interested. This is also a good project for anyone who wants to try bead crochet. :D

I love the rocks where you get yours I got mine at JoAnns, Did you use the strechy string? I have never used it before? I would love to buy the larger river rocks with holes in them, have you ever seen any? I have to admit Im so very new to this jewerly thing.:hook

Hi Bonnie! Thanks! :D:hug

Hi Vims! I love Indian beads! I bought some at the recent trade show and I just love them! I wish I could go there someday and buy beads.....;)

Here's how I did it:

Thread your beads onto your size 10 thread. You can string them randomly in any order you like. You can put size 6 glass seed beads in every 3-4 beads. Depending on the size of your beads, I strung the beads until about 20". Then you decide what finding you like for your bracelet or necklace. I used silver toggle and clasp for mine. I took the toggle then attached my thread to it using sl st. Do this 2 times for strength.

Next you chain adding bead each time until about 9 - 10" long then attach the clasp using sl st. Sc in the next beadchain adding a bead in the second thread over. You have to crochet snug. Your bracelet will twist a bit and this is normal. Continue adding beadsc's until you reach the end of the beadchain. Sl st again into toggle. End off and weave in ends. :) Have fun mixing different bead shapes and sizes.