n00b who needs help with rounds

SheWolf

Question

My problem is starting this afghan I want to make. I make 1 loop (ch 4 sl st into beginning ch 1) then the next instructions tell me to make a chain of 8, then make into a loop with another slip stitch. I just don't understand. Does anyone know where I can get a mpeg or photos of how it's supposed to go? For some reason reading it just isn't working for me.

I'm a very new beginner, so if you try to explain, pretend I'm 3 :lol:blush

7 answers to this question

I think I know what you mean, but I'm not 100% sure. It sounds like you sl st into the first of the eight chains. If your pattern is one that can be found online, I can take a look at it if you post a link; that'd make it easier.

:cheer Can you get your mummy to tell me more please?

She is the tall lady who lives in your house and she will be able to lift you up so you can read this.

But then I suppose a 3 year old is actually big enough to play with the computer on her own.:cheer

:think Seriously, Tell us more about the pattern.

:think Does it have like a figure 8 in the centre of it?

Sounds like so far, you are making a 4CH loop, then the 8CH is forming another loop so just SS to where the 8 CH starts.

This will make a figure 8 shape so if you can tell us what the next instruction is, we will be able to help.:yay

I eagerly await your next post.

Colleen:hug

If this is a copywrite violation, I'll change it.

Ch 4, join with a sl st to form a ring.

Rnd 1: (right side) ch1 loosely (counts as first sc of rnd) work 7 sc in ring, join with a sl st in beg ch-1 (8sc). Ch 1 loosely and mark this ch for first sc of next rnd. Do not turn.

Rnd 2:*Work (sc,hdc,sc) in back lp of next sc (for corner), sc in back lp of next sc; rep from * twice more, work (sc, hdc, sc) in back lp of next sc ( for last corner) sk next sc st (st that joined previous rnd), join with a sl st in beg ch-1 (marked ch) Ch 1 loosely and move marker up to this ch, do not turn.