Newsboy Cap pattern questions

liss

Question

Pattern:

http://www.freewebs.com/jrcldesigns/free_patterns/newsboycap.htm

Well, these questions may be silly because I am not very experienced at chrochet yet, but I have searched all over & cannot find these answers. So, any help would be greatly appreciated!

Here goes,

1) what does the treble in brackets mean beside all dc's?

ex) Ch 3, dc (tr) in same st. 2 dc(tr) in next st, ch 1, *2 dc(tr) in next 2 sts, ch1. etc.

2) Rnd 3, am confused about this term "dc(tr) to last st in group"?

have tried to figure what the "last" stitch is, but it's just not working so far

I'm stumped, & I'm sure it's something simple!

Thanks,

Liss

7 answers to this question

i would say from experience that they have given two sets of instructions. i learnt last year when i started to crochet that dc in the states is tr in the uk where i am. it well confused me at first. sc is dc so if you want to do the pattern the states way which most patterns seem to be given in you do dc double crochet stitches. :hook hope this is understandable for you now. :)

thank you for your quick reply! that does help to clear up the dc vs tr question, thanks a bunch.

still trying to wrap my head around what that instruction to "dc to last stitch in group" in rnd 3 means... I'll keep pondering that one :think

2) Rnd 3, am confused about this term "dc(tr) to last st in group"?

have tried to figure what the "last" stitch is, but it's just not working so far

I think what it means, is on round 2 and 3 you are crocheting 2 dc into a single stitch (this is the group it is talking about) so you would place 2 dc into the 2nd dc of the previous row's set of 2 dc.