Enid Sinclair Floral Skirt

La-La

Question

Hello folks

Has anyone found or put together a pattern for the floral skirt worn by "Enid Sinclair" on the Wednesday series?  I would love to make one for each of my 3 nieces.  I could dig through all my leaflets and books and maybe approximate a pattern for 4 or the 5 types of flowers.  I think that search through my  files may take too long for me to keep my inspiration for the project. 😁 If a pattern for the skirt is not available yet,  a pattern for the 5 flowers would be very helpful.

thanks in advance!

Linda

8 answers to this question

I don't have Netflix but here is an article on her outfits https://wornontv.net/wednesday/enid-sinclair/

I assume you mean the skirt in the bottom row, with pieced together flowers?

I've been crocheting since around 1970, in the era of hippies and flower power, and around that time I saw afghan patterns not unlike that skirt; sort of a crazy quilt of different sized flowers put together, and the color scheme of pink and orange takes me back, too.  I'm also reminded that flower looms were a thing (I still have one, somewhere...), it was basically a plastic circle that you'd stick pegs into, and wrapped yarn around the pegs in a certain way to make flowers of different sizes.   This was a long time ago, but I think there was a pattern to how they were arranged, in other words not random like the skirt.

I think you will not be likely to find a pattern for that very skirt (even vintage), but there are undoubtedly patterns out there for blankets or maybe shawls (they were big back then) put together that way that you can borrow the concept from to make the skirt.  The skirt in the photo looks sort of A-line, but if I were making this I'd make a straight tube with a solid waist band and put elastic in the waist band.

Edited by Granny Square
fix spelling