Help understanding a pattern

RachaelW

Question

Hi, I’m quite new to crochet so I apologise if my query seems silly or basic. 
I’ve been trying to following a pattern which started with a magic ring and 6 sc which is fine.

The next line said inc *6 (I understood to be 2 sc into each of the previous 6)

The line after this then says: Sc, 6inc

I understand sc but the 6inc stopped me in my tracks as I assumed it was different to inc * 6.

Is anyone able to shine some light on this instruction? It’s probably simple and I’m overthinking. 

4 answers to this question

You will single crochet in the first stitch, then with the other 11 stitches you will increase 6 times in those stitches.  

Exmp.  sc - inc. - sc - inc.- sc - inc.- sc - inc.- sc- inc. sc - inc sc - inc. and so on till you reach 18 stitches.  it is sc  with inc every other stitch.

No your question is not silly.  Its unfortunate that so many patterns are written in a type of shorthand rather than the conventionally accepted standard. You have to treat these patterns like  puzzles, look for clues,  and throw in some trial and error to see what works.  And like puzzles the more pieces we have the better chance we have of figuring it out.  You look at photo of what you are making and figure out how to get there.  It helps if they give the stitch counts for the rounds so you can check the math---how many stitches are made and how many stitches were used.