cloud

Question

I'm a beginner crocheter and this is the first pattern I've created. I wanted to try a doily but I could find a pattern to match the size yarn and hook I wanted to use so i decided to try my own. I used 2 skeins of embroidery thread and it has a wpi of 12/13 and a size F hook. I believe though that as long as you use the same number of stitches per round, then it should work with any weight of yarn and hook. I plan to try it again with worsted weight yarn and a 5mm, 5.5mm or 6.5mm hook.

Sunday afternoon doily or coaster

Written in US terminology

Stitches used:

Single Crochet (sc), Chain (ch), *Treble Crochet (tc), Slip Stitch (sl st), V-stitch shell (2 dc, ch 1, 2 dc)

*if you experience cupping substitute Double Crochet (dc) for tc

Materials:

Yarn or thread with a 12 wpi (2 fine yarn, 3 light, 4 medium) F-5/3.75mm hook

Size: between 5.5 inches and 6 inches depending on yarn or thread used and dc substitution

Pattern:

Create a magic circle

R1: ch 1, 9 sc in magic circle, join to the first sc with a sl st. <9>

R2: 2sc in each st, join to the first sc with a sl st. <18>

R3: sl st into 1 st of prev round, ch 4 (counts as first st), 1 tc in same st, *1 tc in next st, 2 tc in next st, repeat from * all around ending with 1 tc, join to first tc (chain) with a sl st. <27>

R4: ch 1, 1 sc in same stitch, *ch 6, sk 2, 1 sc in next stitch, repeat from * all around ending with ch 6, join to first sc with a sl st  <9 ch-6 sp>

R5: sl st to 3rd st in ch-6 sp, ch 1, sc into same st, *ch 5, sc into 3rd st in next ch-6 sp, repeat from * all around ending with ch 5, join to first sc with a sl st <54> (NOTE: substitute ch 6 for ch 5 if you experience cupping but do not add an extra tc in the next round)

R6: ch 4 (counts as first st), 1 tc into same st, *5 tc in ch-5 sp, 2 tc into sc, repeat from * all around ending with 5 tc in ch-5 sp, joint to first tc (chain) with a sl st <63>