Doll arms

Zalkadia

Question

Hello,  newbie here..   I'm trying to make arms for a doll - so I sc 6,  then it says to increase by three - do I space that out every 2nd stitch or just do the increase in the first three ?   maybe that doesn't matter... anyway - I carry on a few rows, but it starts closing in so much that it gets almost impossible to continue, let alone stuff,  the picture on the pattern looks so perfect... *sigh*   any suggestions as to what I'm doing wrong?  I've tried a few different needle sizes, but end up in same boat

kind regards

David

Edited by Zalkadia

2 answers to this question

You want to evenly space out your increases.  If you were to make them all next to each other you would get a bulge in that area.  

I have seen people recommend to stuff as you go.  This site has some helpful tips.

Dont know that you are doing anything wrong.  Practice makes perfect.

• Like 1

I agree with BGS that the instructions probably mean to increase evenly, but it depends on where in the arm you are - it might be making an elbow in 1 spot, where you would want a bulge or outer bend in the arm on one side of the arm, and probably decreases on the other side of the arm for the inside bend.  If the arms on the pattern photo are straight, then increase evenly.  (Pattern photos can answer a lot of pattern questions in my experience).