New to crocheting -- how to read foundation row of crocheted toy pattern

DeborahGreene

Question

Hi There! I am rather new to crocheting and I'm struggling with how to interpret the foundation row of a crocheted toy pattern. I have finished all of the other pieces (which use a magic loop), but I am stuck on the head component.

I was wondering if  any of you could provide with me an alternative explanation/wording of the first row (see below). Or a search term I can google to figure out/ see what type of foundation row this is. I can crochet in the round (with the magic loop), and flat. But I'm struggling to parse what type of the foundation row this is, or picture what the completed head should look like. Is it a hollow tube that I sew closed/ how does it come together? 

Any help would be greatly 
appreciated!

Head

Row 1: ch 15, 2sc into 2sc ch, sc 12, 2sc into last ch, turn to other side, sc 12 (28)

Row 2: (2sc, sc) around (42)

Row 3: sc around

Row 4: (2sc, sc 2) around (56)

Row 5: sc around

Row 6: (2sc, sc 3) around (70)

Row 7-19: sc around

Row 20: (dec, sc 5) around (60)

Row 21: (dec, sc 4) around (50)

Row 22: (dec, sc 3) around (40)

Row 24: (dec, sc 2) around (30)

Row 25: (dec, sc) around (20)

FO

*stuff

10 answers to this question

This is an alternate way to make a shape in the round or oval.  Instead of a magic circle you are working around the back side of the chain.

You work the chain as you would a normal chain pattern.  When you get to the end of the chain the directions tell you to work 2sc into the end of the chain and this will line you up to working on the back side of the chain where you will work the rest of your stitches for this row.  Following this it will be like working any other piece you may have started on a magic circle.  The shape is usually a bit different but it allows you to create some different types of shapes.

Crochet spot has great pictures that show the technique here.

Welcome to the 'ville!