Help with reading intermediate pattern

crochet_claire

Question

Hello, first time posting here! This is the second pattern I’ve read, and I’m kind of confused. 

Here is the excerpt of the pattern: 

foundation using 5mm (UK 6 – US H8) crochet hook and A, 10 ch, ss to join.

round 1: 3 ch, 2 tr (dc), (3 ch, 3 tr (dc)) 5 times, 3 ch, ss into 3rd ch. (6 clusters).

(part I need help with) 
Round 2: 1 dc (sc) between ch and tr (dc) from previous round, 2 ch (this all count as 1 tr (dc)), 1 tr (dc) between st sp, ((2 tr (dc), 3 ch, 2 tr (dc)) into corner ch sp, 1 tr (dc) between each of next 2 tr (dc)) 5 times, (2 tr (dc), 3 ch, 2 tr (dc)) into corner ch sp, ss into 2nd ch. (6 tr (dc) in each section.)

Could anyone help me understand round 2 in this pattern? I am a beginner at reading patterns so I’m sorry if it’s a dumb question! I interpret it as 3 double crochets, then chain 3, then 3 double crochets all in the same chain space of the previous round and then repeat that group in each of the 6 different chain spaces but I have no idea if that is right. 

thank you!

6 answers to this question

This is horrible and confusing to follow.  I had to get paper out and rewrite it.  First had to get rid of the tr and go with dc to eliminate all the extra ( ).  Then I have to break it down in small steps

1 sc between ch and dc from previous round, 2ch-----counts as 1 dc

1 dc between stitch space

[(2dc, 3ch, 2dc) into corner ch sp

1dc between each of next 2 dc] 5 times

(2 dc, 3 ch, 2 dc) into corner ch sp

ss into 2nd ch

Hope this helps.

(  ) all the stitches within these are worked into a chain space

[  ]  work the sequence of stitches within the brackets a total of 5 times

Edited by bgs

Welcome to the 'ville!