Help with Bernat pipsqueak stripes!

Adenae

Question

I am pretty new to crocheting & have never actually followed a pattern. Normally just find a way to copy one online but I can’t find a how to video of this anywhere & I love this pattern :( 

It might as well be in a different language though because I have no clue how to read it! I have my chain done & I do know how to dc but I’m lost after that.

MEASUREMENT
Approx 38½" [98 cm] square.
GAUGE
8 sc and 11 rows = 4" [10 cm].
1 chevron = Approx 6½" [16.5 cm].
DIRECTIONS
Ch 134.
1st row: (RS). 1 dc in 5th ch from hook (skipped ch-4 does not count as st). (Skip next 2 ch. V-st in next ch) twice. Skip next 2 ch. (V-st. Ch 1. V-st) in next ch. (Skip next 2 ch. V-st in next ch) twice. *Skip next 2 ch. Yoh and draw up a loop in next ch. Yoh and draw through 2 loops on hook. (Skip next ch. Yoh and draw up a loop in next ch. Yoh and draw through 2 loops on hook) twice. Yoh and draw though all loops on hook – counts as dc3tog. (Skip next 2 ch. V-st in next ch) twice. Skip next 2 ch. (V‑st. Ch 1. V-st) in next ch-1 sp. (Skip next 2 ch. V-st in next ch) twice. Rep from * to last 4 ch. Skip next ch. Dc2tog over next and last chs. Turn.
2nd row: Ch 3 (does not count as st). 1 dc in first V-st. V-st in each of next 2 V-sts. (V-st. Ch-1. V-st) in next ch-1 sp. V-st in each of next 2 V-sts. *Dc3tog over next V-st, dc3tog and next V-st. V-st in each of next 2 V-sts. (V-st. Ch 1. V-st) in next ch-1 sp. V-st in each of next 2 V-sts. Rep from * to last V-st. Dc2tog over last V-st and last dc. Turn.
Rep last row until work from beg measures approx 38½" [98 cm], ending on a RS row. Fasten off.

4 answers to this question

Here are a couple of helpful links with info on reading patterns.

https://www.craftyarncouncil.com/standards/how-to-read-crochet-pattern

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.edieeckman.com/2019/08/28/where-to-put-the-first-stitch-of-a-crochet-row/amp/