Help with a pattern (UK)

Flossie

Question

Hi I’m new to this forum and I am hoping to get some help. I have been crocheting on and off for a while and have recently started again doing baby shawls. I am usually quite good a figuring out a pattern but this one has me stumped. It is an old Patons one with a border of ducks and a main square. It is the turning bit that has got me. If I can get any help I would be grateful.  I have just completed row 25 where it says ‘do not turn’. But I just can’t figure out row one as it says “work 7 treble evenly along side of next 2 rows”.  Any point in the right direction would help! Thanks 

C773AF39-B349-49E9-B173-737D2970053D.png

image.jpg

4 answers to this question

Hi, welcome to the 'ville!  I didn't want you to think we were ignoring you, I studied your pattern yesterday and was confused - and I've done a lot of filet doilies (and coincidently am presently in the middle of a filet piece with birds in it).

However I've never followed a fully written-out filet pattern like this, I've always worked with a graph with open and filled meshes that maybe had a little bit of written explanation for odd parts - example for your pattern I'd have expected a written explanation for how to turn the corner between the birds, and maybe an explanation of how to make an open and closed mesh, but otherwise nothing but a graph--in your pattern, a graph of the 2 corner birds would do it, with an indication of which meshes were repeated for the birds on the straight sides.