Crochet rabbit

HenrySanders92

Question

Hi there. Im currently crocheting a rabbit from Vanessa Mooncie's book for wild animals. Im having trouble with a particular pattern when making the legs. I have just completed 20 rounds of working in the round. The pattern then says 'the following is worked in rows'. The first part is:

ROW 1: 1 dc in next 2 dc, turn (2sts).

ROW 2: 1 ch (does not count as a stitch), work 1 dc into the dc in front if the first dc, 1 dc in next 3 dc, our  (4sts).

The part I have underlined is the part that really confuses me. Im not sure what 'first dc' it is talking about. I have asked a fellow crocheter on Instagram if they would have any idea abut they said it looks as if it written very strange and that it is probably quite a simple step in the pattern.

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated as it is my first time making something bigger than a key-ring and I want to get it right!

Many thanks!

4 answers to this question

Welcome to the 'ville!  Is this the pattern (the photo is of someone's project I believe, not the books's photo) https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/rabbit-24 .  Ravelry lets people post their projects by pattern, and post comments; only one person mentioned issues, and about the leg area, specifically the heels; then didn't say the pattern was wrong, just that they found the heels a bit challenging.

Since you said you've worked the legs, I'm guessing the part you quoted would be the heel.  Bear with me, I'm 'supposing' here - making the heels on a sock is probably the most challenging part of sock-making; one way to do this is with 'short rows', where you stop working in the round, and start working back and forth to make a 'hill' in  'short rows' back and forth over the prior part that had been in rounds (let's say, the cuff of the sock, or the leg of a rabbit).