Beginner Help!

Bex23

Question

Hi! I am a newbie to the obsession of crochet and I am currently in the middle of my first crochet animal, a giraffe!

I have got a bit stuck that I hope someone can shed some light on.

I croched my 4 individual legs fine and attached them to each other one after another till i got them in a straight line (instructions told me to do this and it worked perfectly) Then i brought my 4th leg around to my 1st, in a square so the legs were 2x2. Again looks great.

Then it says to start making rows to start building up the body. After a few rows it says this

Sew the legs together towards the middle forming a cross.

Now I know why they want me to do it, as the legs although sewn together do have a big gap in the middle so any stuffing for the body would fall out. Its more a case of what to sew it with.

I have 3 legs that have been fastended off (with about a 15cm tail) but I think this isnt long enough and also if i put the fasten off tail on my hook I have nothing to yarn over with. The 4 leg is currently attached to the ball of yarn that im making rows with body with.

Am I to uses a sperate ball of yarn on my hook and use this to sew them together? It was a crochet kit, so I hope the yarn is enough to do this .

I have come so far and it looks so good and im making it for my little girl, I just dont want to fall at the first hurdle,

So any help or advice would be great!!!

Thanks

2 answers to this question