Is the pattern wrong or is it me?

OliverDominic

Question

I'm brand new to crochet and I decided to do a project with multiple techniques so that I can teach myself. I've started with a circle and have worked my way up to round 11 where it gets tricky for me. At the end of the last round I had 42 stitches, and round 11 requires decreasing to 36, however the pattern says I need to 2dctog, 5dc, then repeat, but when I do it, it increases my stitches rather than decrease them. The pattern is in UK terms so I shouldn't have had too much of a problem, but can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong?

2 answers to this question

2dctog means you work into 2 stitches of previous row combining them into 1 stitch on current row thereby reducing your stitch count by 1.

5dc means make 1 dc in each of the next  5 stitches on previous row 

Repeating the sequence 6 times would decrease stitch count from 42 stitches to 36

^ What she said.  I can't think of a pattern where an increase didn't say the word increase or 'inc' - usually if it just says 'inc' it means to put 2 into 1 stitch which increases by 1, but if it has a bigger number, like 'inc 2', it means to put 3 into 1 stitch - 1 into 1 would not be an increase, so to increase 1 stitch by 2 additional stitches, you'd have to put 3 stitches into 1.

'x together' always means to combine x number of stitches together into 1 stitch.  Do you know how to do this?  In a nutshell, it means make 1 incomplete stitch, make another incomplete in the next stitch, and so on if it's more than combining 2 stitches, then gathering the last loops of the incomplete stitches together at the end to combine them into 1 stitch 'top'.  There are undoubtedly youtubes out there that demonstrate this.