Trisha

tcahill

Question

I am a complete beginner and have been trying to teach myself crochet during these crazy times!

I've been doing ok following the pattern I'm working on, but now I'm stumped...

The pattern says to do this-

Round 1: (in BLACK) Ch 4. Work 1 sc into the 2nd ch from hook. Work 1 sc in next ch, 3 sc in next ch (turns the corner), 1 sc in next ch, 2 sc in last ch. Join with sl st to first sc. (8)

I understand the first part- up to where it says turn the corner, but then I'm done with the original chain 4.  Where do I put the rest of the stitches?  The pattern says "1 sc in next ch" but I have reached the end of the original chain 4.  Where do I put these stitches?  How do I end up with 8 stitches in the round?

Help!!

Trisha

3 answers to this question

What Bailey4 said. 

A little more detail - when you work into a chain, you use 1 or 2 loops.  So the first half of the oval is worked into the chain in the usual way, then when you reach the last chain you usually put more than 1 stitch into that last chain to turn the corner, then proceed back toward the beginning in the unused 1 or 2 loops of the chain; then back at the beginning you put extra stitches into the last chain's underside to turn the other corner.

If this is still confusing, there are lots of videos on youtube showing how to work an oval, they might differ in detail from your pattern, but the concept is the same.